Marion Flagg Scholarship Program


Chair:  Rachel Cleaver, George Mason University (VA)

About the Program

Named for one of PCACAC's most outstanding members, the Marion Flagg Scholarship is awarded annually to a group of exceptional educational professionals who are not currently members of PCACAC and who have not previously attended a PCACAC conferenceThis scholarship specifically targets counselors who work with historically underserved students, minority students or students from disadvantaged backgrounds. Each scholarship includes one year of free membership in PCACAC, one annual conference registration, hotel lodging (two nights, in room shared with another scholarship winner of the same gender or 50% of cost of housing if you choose to get a single room), and transportation.


THANK YOU to those who submitted nominations and sponsored this year's scholarships! PCACAC and its sponsors provide up to TEN scholarships for counselors to attend the 53rd Annual Conference and receive free memberships.  

The Inclusion, Access and Success Committee oversees the selection of scholarship recipients. Most of these colleagues work with minority populations or students from disadvantaged backgrounds. They may be high school counselors, two- or four-year college admission professionals, independent counselors or individuals working in such programs as KIPP, Upward Bound, the College Success Foundation, AVID, etc.  Selected recipients and their nominators will be notified by March 2, 2018.  Award certificates will be presented to recipients at the 53rd Annual Conference Nominee must make every attempt to attend the program if selected.

Partner with us!

If you'd like to help support this and other PCACAC programs, you can give any amount by texting PCACAC to 50155.

Congratulations to our 2017-2018 scholarship winners!

  • Melisa Hypolite, CollegeBound Foundation (MD)
  • Arnold McNeal, Mount Vernon High School (VA)
  • Kevin Siliko, Long Reach High School (MD)
  • Patrick Tubbins, Mount Vernon High School (VA)
  • Theresa Wooten, Matoac High School (VA) 

2016-2017 Scholarship Recipients

  • Jaime Conklin, Hermitage High School (VA)
  • Calvin Ruffin, DC College Access Program (DC)
  • Kendra Taylor, High Rocks Education Corporation (WV)
  • Tameka Williams, Caesar Rodney High School (DE)

2015-2016 Scholarship Recipients

  • Molly Garnett, Albemarle High School (VA)
  • Andrew Somerville, E.L. Haynes High School (DC)
  • Linda Wilson, St. Frances Academy (MD)


2014-2015 Scholarship Recipients

  • Tracy Brower, Educational Consultant and Independent Counselor (MD)
  • Chyla Carter, Largo High School (MD)
  • Rahmah Johnson, John Marshall High School (VA)
  • Kimberly McIntosh, Baltimore City Public School System (MD)
  • Aaron Stallworth, E.L. Haynes Public School Charter (DC)

2013-2014 Scholarship Recipients

  • Sabrena Johnson, Howard University: Upward Bound Program (DC)
  • Willie Lee III, New Light Teen Enrichment Program (VA)
  • Allison MockRockbridge County High School (VA)
  • Nicole Yeftwich, KIPP Ujima Academy (MD)
  • Terran Young, Albert Einstein High School (MD) 

List of Marion Flagg Scholarship Recipients