Counselor of the Year Award

Brought to you by PCACAC's Nominating Committee

PCACAC is proud to have a strong membership of extremely talented people on all sides of the desk. In an endeavor to celebrate some of the best among us, the Nominating Committee encourages you to submit your nomination for the “Counselor of the Year” Award!  Both the nominators and the nominees must be must be current PCACAC members. Self-nominations are accepted. The submission deadline is April 6, 2021.

This prestigious award was created to recognize PCACAC members who go above and beyond in their work with students. 

Selection criteria includes:

  • Areas of expertise
  • Impact on constituents in the admission process
  • Advocacy for students and colleagues
  • Commitment to equity and access for all
  • Thoroughness in their daily work
  • Innovation in the industry

Selected recipients and their nominators will be notified in early April. Awards will be announced during our 56th Annual ConferenceApril 18-20, 2021.


2020 Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2020 recipients, recognized during our virtual 55th Annual Conference on May 6, 2020.

 2019 Award Winners

The following individuals were presented with a Counselor of the Year award at our 54th Annual Conference in College Park, MD on May 2-4, 2019:

  • Tracy Brower, Richmond Public Schools Education Foundation (VA)
  • Candace Crawford, E.L. Haynes Public Charter School (DC)
  • Kathy Hobbs, Norfolk Academy (VA)
  • Kenneth Lee Howard, D.C. Tuition Assistance Grant Program (DCTAG)
  • Kim Lopez, Teen Sharp (DE)
  • Iris Malave, Chantilly High School (VA)
  • Stephanie Metruk, Garrison Forest School (MD)
  • Kate Perry, College of William & Mary (VA)
  • Stephanie Stahler, McDaniel College of Maryland (MD)
  • Brandon Townsend, Appoquinimink High School (DE)

2018 Award Winners

The following individuals were presented with a Counselor of the Year award at our 53rd Annual Conference in Dover, DE on May 15-17, 2018:

  • Melisa Hypolite, College Advisor, CollegeBound Foundation (MD)
  • Luis Portillo, Assistant Director, University of Delaware (DC & VA)
  • Mildred Johnson, Dean of Admissions, Radford University (VA)
  • Gina King, Director of College Counseling, Cristo Rey Jesuit High School (MD)
  • Sanjay Mitchell, Director of College and Alumni Programs, Thurgood Marshall Academy PCHS (DC)
  • Charlain Bailey, School Counselor, Montgomery Blair High School (MD)
  • Sarah Boswell, Director of Admissions, Jefferson College of Health Sciences (VA)
  • Judy Edwards, College and Career Specialist, Lake Braddock Secondary School (VA)

Other Past Award Winners


  • Larry Fletcher, Salesianum High School
  • Christopher Jester, Wesley College


  • Crys Latham, Washington Latin Public Charter School
  • Jenni Pfeiffer, The George Washington University


  • Joan Strasnick, Wheaton High School
  • Aundra Weissert, Washington College


  • Robyn Lady, Chantilly High School
  • Faye Holliday, Radford University


  • Anna Marie Fleming, Morgantown High School
  • Michelle Zumpano, Potomac State College of West Virginia University